Giant sensation in cycling :: Biniam Girmay from Eritrea, as the first African, won the heavy classic gent-wevelgem and stole the stars around Wout Van Aert. The 21-year-old surprisingly brought himself on Sunday after 248.8 kilometers the victory in the sprint of a four-headed top group in front of the French Christophe Laporte and the Belgian Dries van Gestel. German drivers did not matter in the decision.

Biniam Girmay Wins Gent-Wevelgem, First African Champion!

“We will have a rosy future”

“That’s unbelievable. I did not expect that to win such a race,” Girmay said after his coup and sees a great future for the African cycling: “It will change a lot. We will have a rosy future.”

Girmay had already written history at the World Cup last year when he went to the podium in his second place in the U-23 race. The 21-year-old had come through the development program of the World Association UCI in profirad sports. In the middle of last year, the change in the WorldTour followed the Belgian Team Intermarché-Wanty Gobert.

Girmays strong cycling year

This year, Girmay started properly. In Mallorca he won the race in Alcudia. This was followed by strong appearances at Milan-Sanremo (10th) and the E3 Prize (5th). At the Flanders tour he does not want to start next weekend. “I miss my wife, my daughter. I want to go home first.”

Van Aert does not matter in the decision

All eyes were directed on all-rounder Van Aert. And the Belgian, who had only won the E3 prize in Harelbei on Friday, started an attack at Kemmelberg at the last climb. But the rivals did not let the Olympia-second did not pull this time.

A good role had played a long time Nikia’s Arndt. The 30-year-old belonged to a breakout group, which had been placed over 65 kilometers before the target.

Gent-Wevelgem (248.80 km):

1. Biniam Girmay Hailu (Eritrea) – Wanty-Gobert 5:37:57 hrs.; 2. Christophe Laporte (France) – Jumbo Visa + 0 sec.; 3. Dries van Gestele (Belgium) – Team Totalergies; 4. Jasper Stuyven (Belgium) – Trek – SegaFredo; 5. Sören Kragh Andersen (Denmark) – Team DSM + 8; 6. Tim Merlier (Belgium) – Alpecin-Fenix; 7. MADS Pedersen (Denmark) – Trek – Segafredo; 8. Ivan Garcia Cortina (Spain) – Movistar Team; 9. Matej Mohoric (Slovenia) – Bahrain Victorious; 10. Arnaud Demare (France) – Groupama-FDJ